Project Description

Key Information

This course is suitable for clinicians who have completed an ISTDP core training and who would like to further develop their therapeutic skills to an advanced level. Supervision of clinical work is a key element of the programme and all participants are required to present video of their work in progress. The small group format is designed to create a safe and stimulating environment.

Lead trainer: Dr Sharon Lewis (DClinPsych)
Additional training: Robert J. Neborsky, MD.

Apply Now

Advanced Training

The course focuses on supervision of participants’ cases with some advanced lecture material and video case review. Topics covered include: AB-ISTDP techniques for working with projection, somatic symptoms and superego pathology as well as handling of syntonic character defence and treatment resistance.

This is a small group, online training held on Zoom.

The 2024 advanced training course is now full, please email: sharonlewis@me.com to join the waiting list or to enquire about the 2025 group

Course dates for 2024:

Friday 23 February 2024

Saturday 20 April 2024

Friday 7 June 2024

Saturday 20 July 2024

Friday 27 September 2024

Friday 8 November 2024

Training days will run from 10am to 5pm, UK time zone

Course fee: £1500

Note: There may be an additional in person training date offered  with Dr Neborsky but this is

optional and not included in the course dates or fees.

Course dates for 2023 (note all times given are in UK time zone/GMT):
Course full

Friday 13 January 2023, 3pm to 7pm (Zoom) – Dr Neborsky

Saturday 11 February 2023, 3pm to 7pm (Zoom) – Dr Neborsky

Friday 10 March, 1-5 pm (Zoom) – Dr Lewis

Saturday 5 May, 1-5pm (Zoom) – Dr Lewis

Sunday 18 & Monday 19 June, 10am to 5pm (Central London) – Dr Neborsky/Dr Lewis

Saturday 9 September, 3pm to 7pm (Zoom) – Dr Neborsky

Friday 13 October, 1-5pm (Zoom) – Dr Lewis

Please email admin@istdp.london for further information about this programme.